General [M]ayhem

General [M]ayhem (http://www.genmay.com/index.php)
-   CompuGlobalHyperMegaNet (http://www.genmay.com/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   can I trust dreamhost for registering the domain I want (http://www.genmay.com/showthread.php?t=644192)

totensiebush 05-17-2006 11:11 PM

can I trust dreamhost for registering the domain I want
 
or should I register it through godaddy instead? if I can trust dreamhost I would like to avoid paying the $9/year that godaddy charges, but if I can't for some reason I am willing to pay it...

hawk82 05-18-2006 07:15 AM

Well, Dreamhost is an ICANN Accredited Registrar. They don't hijack or hold your domain. Godaddy will be marginally cheaper though, and has a better control panel for editing the domain (in my opinion). I can't seem to find the domain lock feature in Dreamhost's domain control panel which is very useful these days by preventing people from taking over your domain.

totensiebush 05-18-2006 07:34 AM

no, Godaddy won't be cheaper. dreamhost includes registration of one URL in the cost of hosting, whereas I would be paying for hosting + registration separately otherwise.

hawk82 05-18-2006 07:47 AM

[QUOTE=Junkie Mod]no, Godaddy won't be cheaper. dreamhost includes registration of one URL in the cost of hosting, whereas I would be paying for hosting + registration separately otherwise.[/QUOTE]
ah, well you never said that. i thought you were looking to just buy the domain and had hosting already.
well if that is the case, then yes, dreamhost for the win. i bought the special hosting package through dreamhost and got the free domain through it. i can transfer the domain to godaddy if i want to. the domain is in my name and not dreamhost's.

pplante 05-18-2006 08:04 AM

its against the rules of the internet for an accredited icann domain reseller to keep your domain hostage, unless you have not paid for it.

so dont worry you'll be safe at dreamhost, and if theres a problem just tell the internet police.

domisi 05-18-2006 09:01 AM

dreamhost registered my domain just fine.

ragortue 05-29-2015 01:13 AM

I think you need to have all your services on one provider so that it will be a one stop shop for you in the future if you have technical problems. [img]https://imagicon.info/cat/13/1.gif[/img]


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:03 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2002-2015 CrowdGather, Inc.