General [M]ayhem

General [M]ayhem (http://www.genmay.com/index.php)
-   CompuGlobalHyperMegaNet (http://www.genmay.com/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   fcuking w00t! 600GB raid5 goodness!! (pics) (http://www.genmay.com/showthread.php?t=202822)

Dan 09-16-2003 06:42 PM

fcuking w00t! 600GB raid5 goodness!! (pics)
 
:woowoo:
it worked. after 28 hours of ghosting drive images my 6 drive WD1200JB RAID5 array is complete!

[img]http://www.dwoloz.com/IMG_1897.JPG[/img]
used ghost2003 this time and it doubled the speed. dont know if it was because of 2003 or because of the new controller/array but oh well, it only took 8 hours this time.

[img]http://www.dwoloz.com/IMG_1892.JPG[/img]
[img]http://www.dwoloz.com/IMG_1893.JPG[/img]
yes thats a shitload of drives packed in there, used all available bays (minus the bottom one since its stupidly occupied by the cases usb ports)

[img]http://www.dwoloz.com/IMG_1894.JPG[/img]
a cabling nightmare but theres little choice

[img]http://www.dwoloz.com/IMG_1895.JPG[/img]
everything back together and ready to go

[img]http://www.dwoloz.com/lotsofspace.png[/img]
600GB of usable space!!!!!!! (approximately)
:-D

controller used is the 3ware 7850 (7500-8)
just have to install the monitoring software and i should be set for good

Kabn 09-16-2003 06:42 PM

friggin' unf.

:heart: raid5.

DuMa 09-16-2003 06:42 PM

WOAH


AEC PORN SERVER II LIVES

ubercaff 09-16-2003 06:43 PM

omg, how much did that cost? I want.

Verdant 09-16-2003 06:43 PM

:lilms:

raj000777 09-16-2003 06:43 PM

Dusty inside.

pete 09-16-2003 06:43 PM

haha, that rocks.

whatda using all that for? i'm about to fill up my first 80giger with crap

Omid 09-16-2003 06:43 PM

holy shit, wtf u gonna fill those drives with? i've got a 160 gig hd, and i'm hardly even using 20gigs

Spiff1333 09-16-2003 06:44 PM

why

suffocate 09-16-2003 06:44 PM

:drool:

Dan 09-16-2003 06:46 PM

[QUOTE][i]Originally posted by ubercaff [/i]
[B]omg, how much did that cost? I want. [/B][/QUOTE]
well...wasnt cheap
drives are cheaper than youd think though
i did a bunch of deal hunting and rebate work, im guessing 400 or less for all drives
3ware card was 250 though, no getting around that price

ILikeLife 09-16-2003 06:46 PM

How big is the power supply?

w|red 09-16-2003 06:46 PM

:drool: :drool: :drool: :drool: :drool:

Phoenix '97 09-16-2003 06:46 PM

Remind me quickly again what kind of error correction RAID 5 has? All I can seem to remember is 0 and 1 and some combination of the two.

Dan 09-16-2003 06:47 PM

[QUOTE][i]Originally posted by Omid [/i]
[B]holy shit, wtf u gonna fill those drives with? i've got a 160 gig hd, and i'm hardly even using 20gigs [/B][/QUOTE]
business documents and linux ISOs


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2002-2015 CrowdGather, Inc.