General [M]ayhem

General [M]ayhem (http://www.genmay.com/index.php)
-   CompuGlobalHyperMegaNet (http://www.genmay.com/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Bandwidth problems (http://www.genmay.com/showthread.php?t=847718)

gwiber 12-29-2014 08:23 AM

Bandwidth problems
 
Short: Somethings using too much bandwidth, how do I find out what? (Problem Best guess)

Longer; Something in my house is pegging out my modem bandwidth and causing the modem to shut down and reboot.

It took two months for Comcast to tell us this. Found it out was my 3 year old Roku box. Well it was a guess anyway. We started removing every device from the Modem signal until the constant drops ceased. When we pulled the Roku the drops ceased, for a while.

Now, I can only run two streams of things. Like a chat room and youtube, before the box pings out and resets.

As shitty as Comcast service is, back in the summer I could run an MMO, stream to my Roku or Wii, run youtube, and have a chat window open without any issues whatsoever. You know, when Comcast wasn't jerking around with updates and shutting my net off for 8 hours at a time.

I am at a loss as to what is causing this new sudden upswing of shitty service, and I can only presume its some machine on my network trying to ping the crap out of the modem and pegging it's bandwith out.

I need advice on how to find out which machine is doing it now, cause the same process of elimination hasn't worked, and then what program is doing the pegging.

Any ideas?

she nice 12-29-2014 08:34 AM

[url]http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=pegging[/url]

brown card 12-29-2014 08:45 AM

whose modem is this? yours or cuntcasts?

either way, idk why you're troubleshooting this bs

you should be on the phone demanding that a tech come out and resolve it fo free

gwiber 12-29-2014 09:13 AM

I wish, I could. And I will if I cant find another way. But three techs have come out and verified it's "Working fine" as they put it.

The last tech was blunt, he helped us find the Roku box probelm, but he says when it comes to Comcast service all they are REQUIRED to do. is check the lines, make sure we are getting a signal, and that the modem is working when they are here. Anything else is "our problem'. If they don't see a problem while they are here, then it's "Not a problem, it must be the end user causing issues".

I'm trying to find out if I can track down if it IS a problem on our end first. Eliminate the possibilities before they get here.

And as for the urban dictionary thing. Get your fucking head out of the gutter. It means more than just that stupid shit. And you damn well know it.

If you don't know what I mean actually, Google it and look for references OTHER than sexual ones you brain dead fart.

she nice 12-29-2014 09:31 AM

[QUOTE=gwiber;25422520]I wish, I could.

all they are REQUIRED to do. is check the lines,

And as for the urban dictionary thing. Get your fucking head out of the gutter.
[/QUOTE]

[img]http://i.imgur.com/OiXOvTg.gif[/img]

she nice 12-29-2014 09:44 AM

is english your first language gwib

pyramid 12-29-2014 11:04 AM

Have you got any kind of bandwidth information screen on the modem or your router which shows you current use? Very useful to have if you don't...

First identify everything that is on your network: [url]https://www.softperfect.com/products/networkscanner/[/url]

scroll down to the bottom, download, unzip, run. enter your network range (10.1.1.1-10.1.1.254 or 192.168.1.1- 192.168.1.254) then scan and see what you come up with.

report back with your findings.

if you find unknown shit on your network and you want to track down WTF it might be, right click on the entry, click copy > mac address then fire up this page: [url]http://aruljohn.com/mac.pl[/url] and paste your mac address in the search bar.

this will usually identify the company that made the hardware you are looking for to narrow down your search.

Triple B 12-29-2014 11:23 AM

this is why pyramid makes the big bucks

Jas101 12-29-2014 11:29 AM

check your pcs browser history for a clickbot.

lol 12-29-2014 11:43 AM

[QUOTE=she nice;25422509][url]http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=pegging[/url][/QUOTE] The following errors occurred with your submission:

The message you have entered is too short. Please lengthen your message to at least 1 characters.

pyramid 12-29-2014 12:20 PM

[QUOTE=Triple B;25422549]this is why pyramid makes the big bucks[/QUOTE]

You're goddamn right. :p

This is even easier to do on my network because my router shows current bandwidth usage like this:

[img]http://i.imgur.com/iy7muxv.jpg[/img]

gwiber 12-29-2014 12:41 PM

[QUOTE=she nice;25422521][img]http://i.imgur.com/OiXOvTg.gif[/img][/QUOTE]

[img]http://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0042/9942/products/dickwad2_det_1024x1024.jpg?v=1305060896[/img]

gwiber 12-29-2014 12:51 PM

[QUOTE=pyramid;25422545]Have you got any kind of bandwidth information screen on the modem or your router which shows you current use? Very useful to have if you don't...[/quote]

I'm to that tech savvy. until I have been told and successfully used something. So.. I am not aware if there is something like that or not

[QUOTE=pyramid;25422545]First identify everything that is on your network: [url]https://www.softperfect.com/products/networkscanner/[/url]

scroll down to the bottom, download, unzip, run. enter your network range (10.1.1.1-10.1.1.254 or 192.168.1.1- 192.168.1.254) then scan and see what you come up with.

report back with your findings.

if you find unknown shit on your network and you want to track down WTF it might be, right click on the entry, click copy > mac address then fire up this page: [url]http://aruljohn.com/mac.pl[/url] and paste your mac address in the search bar.

this will usually identify the company that made the hardware you are looking for to narrow down your search.[/QUOTE]

... not that I know hat I am looking at; but this thing is showing two Modems in the same range.10.0.0.1 and 10.0.0.3. I recognize all the other listed MAC Addresses. Cell phones Printer and computers.

pyramid 12-29-2014 01:33 PM

Hmmm... I wonder if the second address is due to comcasts public wifi BS...

gwiber 12-29-2014 03:07 PM

That scan "netted" me a number of similar MAC addresses. but I don't, think, they have rolled that nonsense out locally, especially not in rural northern Louisiana.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:08 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2002-2015 CrowdGather, Inc.