General [M]ayhem

Go Back   General [M]ayhem > General [M]ayhem > Everyday Life.
Register Members List Mark Forums Read [M]erchandise Calendar

NecessaryEvil

In lieu of another place to post this, what recourse do we have?

My wife and I have been staying at this townhouse for almost 2 years (just a month and half shy).

We really like the apartment. Price is ok. Not the best, but we get a garage (which we just use for storage at this point), and washer and drier is in-unit, and it's about 25-40% more space than the other apartments we looked at.

We've always paid our rent on time. Never had any complaints made against us. We've been good tenants, I would say.

However, we've had a major problem with our garage: it leaks, above the laundry room door. Oh, and the leaking water invited its friend black mold along for the party. We've called it in several times, and it's been determined to have something to do with the bathroom in the apartment above us. Luckily it's the fresh water, not waste water. But, their attempts to fix the problem have failed. It's been going on for a few months at this point, but when I came home from out of town, there was a large(r than normal) puddle in my garage. We went to take photos tonight to include with a letter to the landlord, only to find it dripping heavier than it had earlier that day.

Our patience has waned at this point, and we want the fucking problem resolved immediately. However, our idea of resolved and immediately, and theirs seems to not always coincide. Tonight, we ended up calling the emergency number...but over an hour later, our ceiling leaks, and no one has come by. Granted, it was at 10:45 at night that we called. We're heading to bed, with the hopes that someone will be sent over first thing tomorrow.