General [M]ayhem

Go Back   General [M]ayhem > General [M]ayhem > Everyday Life.
Register Members List Mark Forums Read [M]erchandise Calendar

Atma Weapon

I'm a recent college graduate with very limited career opportunities. Should I join t

I guess my situation requires some background info, and I'll try not to make it too long to keep your interest. About halfway through my college career a couple years ago I realized that my degree (Political Science) was completely worthless and that I wanted to do something exciting and unconventional, rather than get some lame 9-5 desk job wasting my life away. I decided I wanted to do military (through Officer Candidate School, NOT enlisting) and/or police.

Fast forward two years, due to the economy both of those career paths have gotten extremely competitive and I ended up taking up a job teaching English in Korea. My experience here so far has not been what I had hoped and although I am thankful to have found any job at all, I will be right back where I left off when I return back to the US in May with a shitty economy and a bleak employment outlook.

I dropped the idea of military/police for awhile but I am considering going through the process again when I return. What concerns me is that I do not at all fit the personality type for your average cop/soldier/marine. I am a very politically liberal, easygoing, and rational person who has never been in a fight or even been in a position to have to defend myself in my entire life, although I love working out and staying in shape. Like most educated people, I am pretty staunchly anti-war (specifically Iraq and Afghanistan) and pro-legalization of drugs, prostitution, etc. and I'm not exactly sure how my mentality would would fit into the armed services. I fear this is something I might end up regretting not doing when I am no longer young and in shape. Should I play it safe and stick with a civilian job or go for the gusto and pack some heat?