General [M]ayhem

Go Back   General [M]ayhem > Real Time Sub-Forums > CompuGlobalHyperMegaNet
Register Members List Mark Forums Read [M]erchandise Calendar

Potty Mouth

How to advertise IT consulting firm?

After trying to find a job in the IT field working for another company, I've decided to give up. Everything I apply for I either dont get the interview, or I'm told after several interviews, that I'm over qualified.

I've been an IT consultant part time for the last 10 years. ALL of my work has been through word of mouth and I have never been able to get work any other way.

I've tried mailings, personalized letters to business managers, post cards, cold calling, you name it- and nothing. But word of mouth has seemed to produce enough work to give me at least one project every few months... that's not paying the bills anymore.

I'm out of ideas. What would you guys suggest?
the mushrooms pictured in badger and mario brothers are actually a. muscaria and not psilocybin. amanitas muscaria is especially neat because you can drink your own urine and keep getting high... -Sanjay

67c6a1e7ce56d3d6fa748ab6d9af3fd7

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Scatman

-- Local networking events.
-- Going to any kind of tech related conferences, even things like PAX, big LAN parties, etc.

I think you're wise enough to see that in rough economic times, external/contracted consultants are the first item put on the company budget chopping block.

Did you ever think about teaching, like an adjunct professor gig somewhere?

"I'm gonna be rich and famous one day when I invent
a device that can be used to stab someone in the
face over the Internet."

Zangmonkey
3y3 4m t3h Gr4et gr4nD m0th4rfUxing mor4n! W4t<h //\y b33f kur+4nz F|4p!!# 4y4m 1e37!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Potty Mouth View Post