General [M]ayhem

Go Back   General [M]ayhem > Real Time Sub-Forums > The Pit
Register Members List Mark Forums Read [M]erchandise Calendar

Atma Weapon

Why is the US tax system so needlessly complicated?

I've always wondered this, but attempting this year to file US taxes on both the federal and state levels while living abroad (Korea) has left me in complete confusion, even after hours of research. I honestly have given up, I don't care if I get audited (again) because I already know I make so little I won't have to pay anything regardless. I have always found the filing of income taxes to be needlessly complicated even as someone who has never really made any money, and I think most Americans would probably agree with me, seeing as how so many of us despise the IRS. I have a college degree and I still have trouble just filling out just a 1040EZ form. How can it possibly be expected for the average citizen to figure these type of things out on their own? Is the filing of income of taxes in other countries this bad? I can't imagine so.

I'm not some anti-government libertarian who thinks all taxes should be abolished, but there HAS to be a better alternative to the income tax. When almost half of American households don't even have to pay income taxes to the federal government because they don't make enough money, it seems ridiculous that all of those people would have to spend the time and effort filing. We are all still paying payroll taxes, gas taxes, sales taxes, etc. on both the federal and state levels, so everybody is still contributing.

It seems like it would make much more sense to only apply a progressive income tax (on both the federal and state levels) on the top 1.5% who make over $250K. If this was applied, the size of the IRS could be shrunk dramatically and be run much more efficiently since it has to deal with only a fraction of the amount of people. Discuss.

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

DlStreamnet