Jehannum
[M]afia

Sep 20, 2009 #61

No, Z1 2.5".
Your powers are useless! I'm wearing my tin foil underwear!

1992 300ZX: Not stock, 433 RWHP
1971 240Z: Toyota front brakes, 123 RWHP
1967 Pontiac GTO: not stock.
Dislike

Jehannum
[M]afia

Sep 28, 2009 #62

So unfortunately, the 300ZX is still not back terrorizing the roads. After two days hard at it, the motor is almost all the way back together, so I'm pretty happy about the progress.

EGR plug for the plenum. I've been running with a non-functional EGR for 3 years now (the valve seized, a pretty common thing), so this is just a formalization of the arrangement (still passes emissions with flying colors).

Beauty shot - the cam covers are all on, the upper and lower timing covers are on, it's almost all done.

Oil pan and turbo drains are on, too

Plenum, throttlebodies, PCV, water line bypass, idle air lines, balance tube, spark plugs, and coils are all on. All that's left is actually mounting the accessories, like the air conditioner compressor, the power steering pump mount, and the alternator. Helper is in the lower right.

After taking the condenser out of the front, it was obvious that I hadn't cleaned well enough (radiators are wonderful things to catch crap in...), so we took out all of the intercooler piping and pressure washed again, more thoroughly.

The smaller of the two lines running to the evaporator (the heat exchanger for the AC that lives in the dash) needed replacing, after I mangled it a few years ago:

For some reason, Nissan made it a single line, that you have to basically take the entire passenger side of the engine bay apart to get to. It was just lovely, but now it's replaced, as are all of the O-rings in the system, and the dessicator, so I should be able to run the newer R-134A without thrashing the system: